top of page
Search

What I Learned at the Table in the Wilderness

Updated: Jul 13, 2019

For the last four days, I have been at a little corner of Heaven in Wyoming called Table in the Wilderness Ministries. It's a camp for grades 1-12 and beyond. It's a place to sit back, relax, and soak up the beauty of God's creation. Then, if you're in the mood (or if you're a camper, then you're always in the mood), you can take a hike, play a fast paced game of gaga ball, climb the climbing wall, play capture the flag, go fishing, or pull a prank on the cabin next to you. Then, after a full day, gather around the campfire and sing songs, roast marshmallows, and go to bed excited for the next day!


Now, I wasn't a camper this year, I was what is called "Activity Staff." It's not really what it sounds like, as I soon found out. It should, in all honesty, be called (brace yourself): Go-fer-jack-of-all-trades-help-when-you-need-it-and-dish-washing Staff. We did a little of everything. We helped with games, we washed dishes, we did cleaning, we washed dishes, we helped with pranks, we washed dishes, and a whole bunch of other stuff. It could get a little exhausting at times, but at the end of the day, I realized one very important fact.


It feels really good and is really fun to serve!


I know, to some of you, that sounds a bit foreign. Helping - fun?

Let me bring to mind a scripture that you probably know, just aren't thinking of right now.


"And if anyone gives even a cup of cold water to one of these little ones who is my disciple, truly I tell you, that person will certainly not lose their reward.”

Matthew 10:42 (NIV)


Once you get into it, it's not only fun to serve, it has with it an eternal reward!

So get out and help someone today. I don't care who. Friend, sibling, co-worker, fellow student, parent, whoever. Show them love, kindness, humility.

Show them Jesus.


Be Blessed,

Malaki S.


(PS: Here is the website for the camp, check it out! https://www.twmcamp.net/ )


Best. Four. Days. EVER!


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page